Inputs and larger top hat build

Started by corydoras, July 19, 2016, 03:24:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

corydoras

Hi,
I have had great success with several baffle builds for 5 gallon buckets and shop vacs. I also built a top hat for a 40 gallon trash can to use with my 3/4hp dust collector.
I have now outgrown the small DC, and  at a demolition of a production line at work I found a dust collector that I ripped the fan out of to use for my new build.
Its a fairly large fan with a 14" steel diameter fanblade, and 6" tall, so it move a huge amount of air with the 3 hp motor.
I put a VFD on it so that I have full control on speed, ramping and current.
BUT, my major issue in my setup is that my basement shop has very low ceilings and the largest piping I can install are 4"
I would have preferred 6", but sadly there is not enough headroom. The longest stretch of pipe is aprox 21 feet, containing four 90 degree turns.
I run pvc pipes, and unfortunately no long sweep bends.
With the small dc and the thien top hat I managed to get 2300FPM at center of pipe inlet.

The new large fan has a 10" inlet, and I have built 3 filterbags on the exhaust with a diameter of 8" and 68" tall.
I will get some photos of my setup tomorrow.

I am going to build a new top hat, and was thinking about making it 23" in diamter and 11" tall.
I have two 4" pipes coming in from different parts of the shop, And was wondering if I should make an inlet with the 2 pipes stacked,
Normally Only 1 pipe will be used at a time, but I might reconfigure the lines, so that I get for example one 4" line for the bottom of the table saw, and one 4" for the overhead arm dust collector.

I am planning on ending these pipes in a smooth transition to a square inlet.

My major question is What size pipe would be best for the output?

Would it be wisely to make a 10" output, as long as I only have a 4 inch line on the input? ( maybe two in the future, or more),