News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

electrostatic discharge

Started by ELMARTO, December 14, 2011, 07:27:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ELMARTO

Hi all - I'm a newbie I've been lurking about reading & learning - very impressed with Mr Thien's concepts & everyone's combined knowledge on dust extraction - two questions if I may

1)When I was a lad I worked in a flour mill & learned about dust explosions (& witnessed a dust fire) - Is there any risk of such with the wood dust in these systems being caused by an electrostatic buildup??? Is there a need for grounding for electrostatic discharging - I have acquired a plastic drum & plastic sewer piping, can it be grounded???

2) Now for the dumb question - I vaguely remember something from my school-boy science about the "Corolis(?) Effect" - I live in the southern hemisphere "DownUnder" & I'wondered whether the air in the baffle system should be spinning clockwise (or is it anti-clockwise???) for me & if so should the inlet on a Thien baffle or top-hat design be reversed ??? - or maybe it just doesn't matter - don't laugh but i was studying the bathwater going down the drain last night to find the Effect

in anticipation thanks

retired2

1)  A lot of people will tell you it is necessary, especially if they are selling grounding wire, or if they are concerned about liability.  However, if you search the web you will find numerous articles stating that the risk of a dust explosion from a static discharge in a home shop is a myth.   The greatest likelihood of a DC fire comes from sending a piece of hot metal into the chip collection bag or drum.  Even then the risk is not dust explosion, it is a smoldering fire the breaks into an open flame long after you've left the shop.  So, pay very close attention to what you are sucking into the dc system.