noob here, just built a separator and bought 2HP HF DC

Started by coaster, April 23, 2009, 10:52:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coaster

i got it going last night after buying the DC from HF (on sale). the one i got is slightly different from the ones i have seen in others' shops; the base has threaded holes instead of using nuts, the hose clamps are not awful (they work great) and the bag is made of felt instead of the typical material i have seen. i don't know if the bag is better or not but it doesn't inflate to a solid bag, it stays soft when inflated.

i had just finished the trashcan lid before i got the DC so i was exited to turn it on and see how it worked. i used 4" fittings on the lid and sucked up a lot of dust and leaves into the can with only a tiny amount getting in the bag.

i had a mistunderstanding about the PVC types and originally built the lid with 4" DWV instead of S&D. this left me with a 5" hole for the angled inlet instead of the 4" hole i needed ( i caught my misunderstanding before drilling the center hole). i made a patch peice to hold the inlet fitting and put it over the 5" hole and i wonder if i should attempt to fill up the remainder of the hole underneath (inside) the lid or not?

i already have the bug and want to go 6" but money is a little tight after buying all this DC stuff. my main goal in all this is to tame the new delta contactor saw i bought and it comes with a 4" hole and no upper dust mechanism so i don't know what my final plan will be.

i am suprised that the HF DC is not very loud like i thought it would be, and that is the main reason i bought it after hearing the one at a friends' shop. the small ones seem a lot louder(?)

also - my trash can is plastic rubbermaid and does not show any signs of wanting to collapse - i had worried about that.

bennybmn

I manage to get really good DC with my Delta CS with this setup. Let me know if you need any ideas.

coaster