News:

SMF - Just Installed!

Main Menu

Questions Jet DC650

Started by tenfingers, March 09, 2012, 11:22:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tenfingers

I recently bought a used Jet DC650 and would like to build a "Top Hat" separator for it.

With its one horsepower motor and small fan (650 cfm claimed) should I bother to enlarge the air inlet to five or six inches between the collector and the separator?

I don't plan on running shop wide ductwork. I plan to roll it from machine to machine and connect the separator to the machines with four inch flex hose. My machines all have four inch ports now.

Also is there a reason for the use of clear plastic for the separator other than looks? I have sheet metal and Formica in my scrap pile that I would use instead. For the top and bottom I plan to use melamine.

Any reason not to use these materials? I can't think of any but I've never built one of these before.

Many more questions to come.

Thanks

Dougp28704

Sheet metal would be fine. I am using clear polycarbonate just so I can see what?s going on inside the separator. I would think melamine would be fine as well.

Peter

I used aluminum flashing. Other than you can't see through it, it works fine.

I do recommend making some provision to easily open the separator to remove the occasional clog in the drop slot.

tenfingers

Does the drop slot clog often?

Maybe the reason for the clear sides.

Couldnt I just take it off the can and sweep it out with the shop vac?

Bulldog8

I've never had my drop slot clog, but the clear sides let me know when it's time to empty the can. The odd swirling I get when the can is almost full cues me to empty it. That may also help to not clog by overfilling.

Steve

Dougp28704

I think you could easily get any clog out with a shop vac from the underside of the baffle.

Peter