Top Hat construction question

Started by sneezy, December 22, 2011, 11:04:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sneezy

I am thinking of attaching the sheet metal, shown in the photo, to the top and bottom retaining rings with finishing nails spaced approx. 1" apart. Even though they can be countersunk they will still protrude slightly and the wall won't be completely smooth at the very top and bottom. Do you think that will affect the seperator's performance?
Thanks

Bulldog8

I used Lexan not metal so I am not experienced with your situation, but in any case nails every 1" sounds like too many to me. If each end is held captive either with nails or structure and a couple of nails in the top edge to prevent drooping, I don't see how the metal could move.

Steve.

galerdude

Nice construction, Sneezy! I too, as Steve (Bulldog) did, used lexan. On the bottom of the lexan I countersunk screws to keep it taught to the framework. Turbulence ?, I'm sure there is. Does my Tophat work? Yes! If the nail attachment becomes a performance concern, possibly you could use a glue or silicone between the metal and framework and then clamp to the framework with a temporary circular jig, thus fewer fastners. I don't know if that would work, just throwing ideas out there.

Best,
Gale

retired2

Quote from: sneezy on December 22, 2011, 11:04:39 PM

I am thinking of attaching the sheet metal, shown in the photo, to the top and bottom retaining rings with finishing nails spaced approx. 1" apart. Even though they can be countersunk they will still protrude slightly and the wall won't be completely smooth at the very top and bottom. Do you think that will affect the seperator's performance?
Thanks