New to DC - have a question

Started by bruegf, April 24, 2010, 04:59:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bruegf

Hi,

I've been woodworking for a few years but until now have only used a shop vac for dc.  I recently purchased a new TS and it was quickly apparent the shop-vac was no longer adequate.  I found this site and others talking about the HF dc and Thien baffle and decided to go that route.   I'm planning to have dc at my TS, band saw, jointer, drill press, and at my Festool MFT station.

I've purchased the HF 2hp dc and have added the Wynn 35A paper filter.   I've also swapped out the 5" flex hose between the blower and canister with 5" 26ga snap-lock pipe and am in the process of installing 5" 26ga snap-lock pipe for my runs.

What little I've used the dc so far, I've found that the dust swirls very quickly in the bottom of the clear plastic dust bag the entire time the dc is running, so I assume it is picking up some dust and pushing it up into the filter which leads me to my question.

I had planned to build a side inlet Thien baffle using a galvanized garbage can as it had the advantage of keeping more stuff out of the blower vanes, especially any stray bits of metal which could either cause a spark or damage the blower vanes, as well as appearing to be easier to empty. 

But now I am wondering whether I should

a) stick to my original plan of using a baffle in a garbage can
b) just skip the external separator and add a baffle inside the HF dc
c) use the baffle in the garbage can for ease of emptying and keeping foreign objects out of the dc blower vanes AND put another baffle inside the DC to prevent the scrubbing

Would option c) cut down on the cfm too much.  Any thoughts as to what the best option would be are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Fred

bruegf