Need some help with correct sizes for Separator

Started by Mr.GfC, December 06, 2016, 12:43:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr.GfC

Hi all.
I need some help in getting the measurements correct. I'm a Disabled VET and I have a hard time understanding the ratio's and basically anything other than simple math now. I've recently been able to acquire a Jet 1221 Lathe and in turning the handles for tools, I realized that I desperately need a dust collector/separator.
A friend of mine gave me a fan that has a 5-3/4" intake on the side.

Not wanting to stress the motor, I'll be using a 5-3/4' hose all around.
The thing is, I live in Lima, Peru. So there are a lot of things ya'll use, that I don't have access to. Like the adapters I've seen turning the hose into a rectangle-for attaching it to the separators. So, with this in mind, I drew this separator up in CAD.

I'm using a cardboard barrel I was able to get that is just big enough to accept x3 5-3/4" across and top to bottom, inside.
My idea is to remove the bottom ring and glue the barrel to a wooden ring that I can them mount on the collection barrel. By doing this, I thought I could mount the separator plate with 3 long carriage bolts to the separators lid, leaving a full open circle for the dust particles to drop into the collector-barrel.

My questions are:
1.   The exhaust tube:
a.   How far into the center of the barrel does it need to go?
In the drawing, I have it 5-3/4" from the bottom plate.
2.   The Bottom Plate:
a.   Is there an optimal distance it should be from the side of the barrel? The space between it and the wall-does it have to be a specific size?
3.   A Helix:
a.   I know that because the barrel is made from cardboard, I'll need to insert a 'strike plate' where the dust and chips hit the side, to keep it from getting torn up/eaten away.